擊退卡路里 「食」力至上

發佈:2019-08-11作者:TCI 大江生醫

肥胖常伴隨許多疾病發生,包括心血管疾病、第二型糖尿病、睡眠呼吸中止症、癌症、 退化性關節炎、以及氣喘等,上述疾病有時還會導致死亡。

擊退卡路里 「食」力至上

肥胖的致病性:肥胖會使許多疾病的發生率上升。主要可分為兩大類:第一是體脂肪量 增加造成的影響(如退化性關節炎、睡眠呼吸中止症);第二是體內脂肪細胞增加造 成的影響(如第二型糖尿病、癌症、心血管疾病)。如第二型糖尿病和肥胖有高度相 關,64%男性糖尿病患與77%的女性糖尿病患都有體脂肪過度堆積的現象。同時體脂肪 的增加會改變人體對胰島素的反應,造成胰島素拮抗。

肥胖的致命性: 歐美的大規模研究指出身體質量指數(BMI)介於20-25公斤/平方公尺 的非吸菸者以及BMI介於24-27公斤/平方公尺的吸菸者分別有最低的死亡風險(吸菸也 會提高死亡風險,因此區分來看),高於這個範圍死亡風險都會上升。亞洲人則在BMI 超過22-25公斤/平方公尺時死亡率就開始上升。在美國肥胖每年導致120,000至365,000 人死亡;歐洲有7.7%的死亡(相當於約100萬人)和過重相關。

美國不同BMI的未吸菸男性十年 內死亡的相對風険 資料來源:維基百科美國不同BMI的未吸菸男性十年 內死亡的相對風険 資料來源:維基百科
美國不同BMI的未吸菸女性十年 內死亡的相對風険 資料來源:維基百科美國不同BMI的未吸菸女性十年 內死亡的相對風険 資料來源:維基百科

肥胖是慢性病 ,減重從調整生活開始

肥胖是因為熱量攝取過多、消耗太少,導致熱量累積以脂肪的形式堆積在體內形成肥 胖。肥胖者首要調整飲食及運動,必要時依醫師建議規劃減重計畫甚至以藥物輔助治 療。不過無論採取哪種方式減重,都需要調整生活習慣才會成功。根據台灣衛生福利 部的建議,透過「健康吃、快樂動、天天量體重」 的減重三步驟1年約可減重3-5%。

(1)健康吃:三多三少-多喝白開水、多吃蔬果、多全穀雜糧、少油、少鹽、少糖。

(2)快樂動:要達到減重或提升體能的效果,須有每周300分鐘以上中等強度身體活動,若能加入高強度有氧運動或高低強度間歇運動,更容易達到減重及健康促進的效果。

(3)天天量體重:可隨時提醒自己維持健康的體重。

全球一起減重減脂大作戰

全球肥胖人口多,相關產品需求高

生活在富足的時代,人們的飲食方式由「吃飽」轉為「吃美食」,但同時因飲食習慣 不佳和運動量不足,「肥胖問題」變成了全民問題。根據Euromonitor 的分析指出,在 2017年北美和大洋洲的肥胖比例超過30%,而亞太地區的肥胖人口約在6%。將肥胖人 口對體重控制產品的人均消費作分析,北美和大洋洲肥胖比例高,因而肥胖人口的消 費也較高。不過特別的是亞太市場,可能由於傳統審美以瘦為美,肥胖人口的人均消 費排名第三,可見未來市場潛力大。 2018 年,全球體重管理類產品零售額約1700億美 元,近年來主要的成長來自亞太地區。2017年亞太地區的體重管理類銷售額568億美 元,超過了北美563億美元,成為全球最大市場,也是全球最大的增量來源。

全球各地區體重管理類產品人均消費額 資料來源: Euromonitor全球各地區體重管理類產品人均消費額 資料來源: Euromonitor
全球體重管理產品零售額(百萬美元) 資料來源: Euromonitor全球體重管理產品零售額(百萬美元) 資料來源: Euromonitor

中國消費者對減肥相關產品需求提升

2018年根據人民日報的統計,肥胖人口已占總人口的九分之一。根據Euromonitor的資 料2017年體重管理產品市場達到133.7億美元。消費者近期對於減重相關產品的關注度 逐漸提升,且不僅只是搜尋相關資訊而已,還會真實反映在消費行為上,根據資料統 計,今年7月在天貓網與淘寶網上,消費者在購買體重管理相關產品的比例分別佔保 健食品類總銷售量的34.5%(第一名)與25.2%(第一名)。由此可見減肥、減脂相關產品 在中國市場的需求量是高的。而在體重管理相關產品中,「代餐」算是近幾年來發展 較迅速且需求較高的體重管理類產品,值得更進一步來探討。

天貓網各種類保健食品銷量 資料來源:天貓集團天貓網各種類保健食品銷量 資料來源:天貓集團
淘寶網各種類保健食品銷量 資料來源:淘寶網淘寶網各種類保健食品銷量 資料來源:淘寶網

體重管理從「食」招來

飲食更健康,生活更輕盈

隨著經濟的成長與教育程度的提高,越來越多的消費者開始追求更健康、營養、方便 的食物,來維持體態或改善體重。因此,代餐食品就得到了他們的青睞,比如代餐粉、 運動營養飲和蛋白質補充品等。據歐睿國際2017年數據統計,2016年全球代餐市場超 過600億美元,預計2021年會達到約900億美元。2017年中國代餐市場達到572億人民 幣,預計2022年會達到1200億人民幣。由此看來,以營養補充飲料、蛋白類產品、代 餐零食等為主的營養代餐產品市場前景十分可觀。同時消費者也更加關注「潔淨標示 (即不含任何人工添加物及防腐劑,產品成份簡單)、有機、低糖、益生菌」為主的 產品。根據Innova Market Insights調查顯示,目前健康零食逐漸成為輕食首選,2013- 2017帶有「健康標籤」的零食產品數量增長了17%;CBNData顯示低糖食品逐漸成為趨 勢銷量逐漸成長;而I.R.I.數據顯示40%的消費者希望零食中含有益生菌來幫助消化。因 此在未來多功能的健康代餐產品將會成為未來的趨勢。

2011, 2016及2021年體重管理產品市場規模與成長率 資料來源: Euromonitor2011, 2016及2021年體重管理產品市場規模與成長率 資料來源: Euromonitor
中國代餐市場規模 資料來源: Euromonitor中國代餐市場規模 資料來源: Euromonitor

消費者對代餐食品關注度逐漸提升

代餐食品已逐漸成為一種飲食的趨勢。根據天貓集團的研究單位CBNData指出,中國 代餐食品在大城市消費佔比接近五成,從銷售數量及消費者人數上代餐食品的整體銷 售均有著穩定的增長且呈現大於50%的成長率。且其中85%的消費者購買代餐的原因 是因为瘦身與健身,以18~30歲的人為主要消费者約佔70%消費量,因此開發出符合 年輕人與運動族群的「健康」與「機能性」產品就更為重要。另外跟據百度指數搜尋 顯示,代餐食品相關議題在中國消費者的關注度不斷提高,例如「代餐粉」與 「代餐 奶昔」 ,也讓整體市場呈現成長的潛力。

2016-2018天貓代餐銷售量(左圖)與購買人口數規模(右圖)  資料來源:天貓集團2016-2018天貓代餐銷售量(左圖)與購買人口數規模(右圖) 資料來源:天貓集團
中國市場對代餐粉(上圖)與代餐奶昔(下圖)關注度不斷上升 資料來源:百度指數中國市場對代餐粉(上圖)與代餐奶昔(下圖)關注度不斷上升 資料來源:百度指數

全球體重管理市場百家爭鳴

品牌眾多,市場競爭熱烈

體重管理產品在全球各區由於發展程度不同,導致市場上競爭狀況的差異。根據長江 證券的分析報告,Herbalife (賀寶芙) 經過多年經營,全球市場市佔率來到19%,其次為 Abbott(亞培) 市占率為11%,不過值得注意的是有63%的市場是由許多小品牌所擁有, 因此全球市場未來還有發展的潛力。而細看到代餐市場狀況稍微不同,根據 Euromonitor的分析指出,美國市場分布較為平均,由Atkins(市占率:13.4%)與 Shakeology(市占率:12.6%)佔據前2名;在中國市場由Herbalife (賀寶芙)一家獨大擁有近9 成的市佔率,可能是因為體重管理市場才剛開始發展的原因,為了改變這樣的狀況, 擁有更好且符合消費者需求的產品就更加重要。

2018年全球體重管理市場競爭態勢 資料來源: Euromonitor2018年全球體重管理市場競爭態勢 資料來源: Euromonitor
美國代餐市場競爭態勢 資料來源: Euromonitor美國代餐市場競爭態勢 資料來源: Euromonitor

尋找市場新藍海,提升自身附加價值

現今在體重管理產品的市場選擇眾多,相關品牌若想有所成長,在自身營運及產品策 略上要有所調整,才有機會找到自己的「藍海」。而品牌想要有所成長,不外乎三大 策略:「產品差異化」、「市場擴張」及「客戶關係的培養」。而大江生醫能為企業夥 伴創造價值的部分就在「產品差異化」這點。產品要能吸引消費者,就要提供更多的 附加價值,例如: 「方便」與「健康」。 根據天貓集團CBNData指出,方便攜帶的小包 裝成為流行趨勢,且男性消費者逐年增多,小包裝不再是女性消費者的專利。據權威 食品商業媒體雜誌New Nutrition Business發布的2019食品營養與健康10大趨勢,排名 第一的是消化健康而其他與減重食品相關議題如:蛋白質、糖、碳水化合物與脂肪等議 題也都在榜。因此擁有體重控制且能改善身體健康的產品會是未來一大趨勢。

相關推薦

聯絡
我們
聯絡我們

聯絡我們



以上欄位皆為必填
取消
送出

謝謝

您的資訊已經收到,我們會儘快與您聯絡。

姓名:
性別:
電話:
Email:
公司名稱:
國家/地區:
城市:
關注產品:
訊息內容:

若有任何問題,請聯絡我們
Email:tcius@tci-bio.com

確定

Killing Calories, You Are What You Eat

Publish:2019-08-11Author:TCI Co., Ltd

So many diseases are accompanied with obesity. They include cardiovascular diseases, type II diabetes, sleep apnea, cancer and osteoarthritis etc. The diseases mentioned above will possibly lead to death.

Killing Calories, You Are What You Eat

Obesity-associated morbidity: Obesity increases the morbidity of many diseases. Those diseases can be classified into 2 categories: first, the diseases are caused by the elevated amount of body fat (for instance: osteoarthritis and sleep apnea); second, the diseases are caused by the increased number of fat cells (for example: type II diabetes, cancer, and cardiovascular diseases). Taking type II diabetes for example, it is remarkably related to obesity. More than 64% of male patients and 77% of female patients of diabetes have the same health issue: the over accumulation of body fat. The elevated amount of body fat will affect body’s response to insulin to cause the insulin antagonism.

Mortality of obesity: The large-scale research conducted in the West has demonstrated that the non- smoking persons with BMIs in the range of 20 to 25 and the smokers with BMIs in the range of 24 to 27 have the lowest mortality rate (the study separated the smokers from people because smoking is one of the causes of mortality). If your BMI value is higher than the highest values mentioned above (25 and 27), the risk of mortality will increase. For Asians, if the BMI value is higher than the range of 22 to 25, the risk of mortality will increase. In the US, obesity leads to 120,000 to 365,000 deaths every year. In Europe, there are 7.7% of deaths (about one million people) related to obesity.

The relative risk of mortality by BMI in non-smoking US men, Data Source: WikipediaThe relative risk of mortality by BMI in non-smoking US men, Data Source: Wikipedia
The relative risk of mortality by BMI in non-smoking US women, Data Source: WikipediaThe relative risk of mortality by BMI in non-smoking US women, Data Source: Wikipedia

Obesity Is a Chronic Disorder. Losing Weight Should Be Started from Cultivating a New Lifestyle

Obesity is caused by an excessive intake of calories and a low metabolic rate. These two conditions will result in fat accumulation for further obesity formation. The most crucial elements for the people with obesity are “dietary” and “exercise”. If necessary, people with obesity have to follow the dietary plan or even drug-assisted treatments from the physicians. No matter which way you have chosen to lose your weight but changing your lifestyle is always the priority. According to the advice from the Ministry of Health and Welfare (Taiwan), the three steps for losing weight: “eat healthy, exercise happily, and monitor your weight daily” can help you get rid of 3 to 5% of your weight.

(1) Eat Healthy: Three things should be done more frequently: drink water, eat vegetables, and eat grains. Three things should be avoided: oil, salt, and sugar.

(2) Exercise Happily: If you want to lose your weight or improve your physical strength, you have to do more than 300 minutes of moderate-intensity exercise every week. The performance will be further improved if you add high-intensity aerobic exercise or high-intensity interval training (HIIT) into your workout schedule.

(3) Monitor Your Weight Daily: It can remind you about the importance of maintaining a healthy weight at all times.

World War III: Weight War & Fat War

High Demand for Weight Management Products Due to Too Many Obese People

In this wealthy era, people are chasing “palatable foods” instead of “satisfying hunger”. But due to bad dietary habits and insufficient exercise, “obesity” has become a general issue in the world! Based on the analysis reports provided by Euromonitor, in 2017, more than 30% of residents are suffering from obesity in North America and Oceania. On the contrary, obese people only account for 6% of Asians. Focusing on the per capita consumption on weight management products, there are lots of obese people who are worrying about their weights in North America and Oceania, so they pay more money for purchasing weight management products as well. But the Asia-Pacific market shows a special character: it has the 3rd highest per capita consumption in the world due to Eastern aesthetic taste: slimness is always beautiful. It indicates the great potential of this area. In 2018, the annual revenue of weight management products in the globe market was about US$170 billion. Moreover the most noticeable growth is from Asia-Pacific recently. In 2017, the annual revenue of weight management products in Asia-Pacific was US$56.8 billion which overtook the annual revenue of North America, US$56.3 billion. Asia-Pacific has taken the lead of North America and become the biggest market of weight management products. It is also the most powerful engine for the growth of this industry.

The per capita consumption by regions, Data Source: EuromonitorThe per capita consumption by regions, Data Source: Euromonitor
The retail sales of weight management products by regions (unit: US$ million), Datasource: EuromonitorThe retail sales of weight management products by regions (unit: US$ million), Datasource: Euromonitor

Elevated Demand for Weight Management Products in China

According to the statistics from People's Daily, obese people already account for one nine of total population in China. Based on the data collected by Euromonitor, in 2017, the annual revenue of weight management products had reached US$13.37 billion. In recent years, weight management products have been grabbing more and more consumer’s attention steadily. Online searching is not the only index for its popularity, but also the consumer behavior. In accordance with the statistics, in this July, the portions of weight management products accounted for 34.5% and 25.2% of the monthly revenue of dietary supplements on Tmall and Taobao respectively. Through these data we can realize there is a great demand for weight management products in China. Among all weight management products, meal replacement products are the category of weight management products with a quicker growth speed and a higher demand. Therefore it is worthy to study it more deeply.

The sales of different categories of dietary supplements on Tmall, Data Source: TmallThe sales of different categories of dietary supplements on Tmall, Data Source: Tmall
The sales of different categories of dietary supplements on Taobao, Datasource: TaobaoThe sales of different categories of dietary supplements on Taobao, Datasource: Taobao

Foods Make the Hit! Manage Your Weight from Here

Healthier Diet, Lighter Burden

Along with the increasing education level and the burgeoning economics, there has been an increase in the number of consumers who are chasing healthier, more convenient and nutritional foods to maintain their shapes or reduce some weights. Therefore, meal replacement has grabbed people’s eyes. For example, meal replacement powder, sport drinks, and protein supplements are making a hit. According to the statistical reports from Euromonitor, in 2016, the annual revenue of global meal replacement market was over US$60 billion, and it is expected to reach US$90 billion in 2021. In 2017, the annual revenue of China’s meal replacement market was RMB 57.2 billion (US$8.1 billion). It is expected to reach RMB 120 billion (US$17 billion) in 2022. Based on the statistics mentioned above, the future of meal replacement products including energy drinks, protein supplements, and meal replacement is promising. At the same time, consumers are paying more attention on the products featured with “Clean Labeling (non-additive and non-preservative products made by simple ingredients), organic, low-sugar, and probiotics”. Based on the survey provided by Innova Market Insights, healthy snacks are taking the lead of light meals, the number of snack products with “healthy indicators” has increased by 17%. CBNData shows that low-sugar products are making a hit and the sales are soaring. The data from I.R.I. indicate that about 40% of consumers would like to have probiotics added in snack products to improve digestion system. Multi-function meal replacement products will become the trend of food industry in the future.

The market sizes and CAGRs of weight management products (2011, 2016, and 2021)資料Data Source: EuromonitorThe market sizes and CAGRs of weight management products (2011, 2016, and 2021)資料Data Source: Euromonitor
The market sizes of meal replacement products in China, Data Source: EuromonitorThe market sizes of meal replacement products in China, Data Source: Euromonitor

Growing Attention on Meal Replacement Products

Meal replacement products have been becoming a new trend of dietary style. According to the reports from CBNData, the research department of Tmall, about 50% of meal replacement products are bought by consumers who live in big cities. The overall sales of meal replace products, including the number of consumers and the sale number are steadily growing with an astonishing growth rate (more than 50%). More than 85% of consumers buy meal replacement products due to weight control or fitness plans. Consumers aged from 18 to 30 consist of its majority, about 70% of the overall sales. Therefore the development of “healthy” and “functional” products which meet the requirements of teenagers and gym-goers is becoming the critical issue. Furthermore, based on Baidu Index, the growing attention on the relevant issues of meal replacement products such as “meal replacement powder” and “meal replacement shake” has been observed in Chinese consumers.

The number of meal replacements products sold on Tmall from 2016 to 2018, Data Source: TmallThe number of meal replacements products sold on Tmall from 2016 to 2018, Data Source: Tmall
The growing attention on meal replacement powder and meal replacement shake in China, Data Source: Baidu IndexThe growing attention on meal replacement powder and meal replacement shake in China, Data Source: Baidu Index

Global Weight Management Market: An Era of Intense Competition

Brand, Brand, Brand, and Heated Competition

The development of weight management products varies by regions and further leads to the diversity of market competitive situation. According to the analysis reports from Changjiang Securities, Herbalife has the top market share: 19% of global weight management market. The following one is Abbott with a market share of 11%. One interesting feature which is worth to be noticed is that small brands account for 63% of the market. Therefore there is great potential for future development in global market. If we look closer at the meal replacement market, the situation is slightly different. Base on the analysis from Euromonitor, most manufacturers are running neck to neck in the US: Atkins (13.4%) and Shakeology (12.6%) take the top 2 thrones of this market. But in China, Herbalife is almost undefeatable and dominates this market with an astonishing share of 90%. This phenomenon is probably caused by the status quo of Chinese weight management market: at its starting phase. For overthrowing this situation, it is more important to have better products which fit consumer’s need more closely.

The leaders of global weight management industry (2018), Data Source: EuromonitorThe leaders of global weight management industry (2018), Data Source: Euromonitor
The leaders of weight management industry the US, Data Source: EuromonitorThe leaders of weight management industry the US, Data Source: Euromonitor

The New Blue Sea: Better Additional Values

There is panoply of weight management products available on the market. If the related brands want to thrive, they have to make some adjustments on their operation and product strategies. That is the only chance for them to find their own “blue seas”. There is nothing else than these three strategies if a brand wants to prosper: “product differentiation”, “market expansion”, and “customer relationship management”. Why TCI is always bringing values for our clients? The answer is “product differentiation”. You have to provide more additional values to attract consumers, for example: “convenience” and “health”. According to CBNData, the products with small packages have become a hit for the market. Male consumers who like small packages have been increasing year by year, so small packages are not only for women now. According to the top 10 trends published by New Nutrition Business, an authoritative magazine in food industry, the top 1 trend is the issues related to digestive health. Meanwhile, the weight control related issues such as proteins, sugar, carbohydrates, and fat are all in the list. In summary, the products with functionality of weight management and health benefits will become a promising trend in the future.

More for You

Contact Us Now Contact Us Now

Contact Us



fields above are required
Cancel
Submit

Thank You

Your information has been received and we will contact you as soon as possible.。

Name:
Gender:
Phone:
Email:
Company:
Country:
City:
Products:
Message:

for any further question, please feel free to contact us
Email:tcius@tci-bio.com

ok